IFA OBSERVED 35th Football Lovers Day 2015

16.08.2015 : KFC. | HOME PAGE | LIKE FB

IFA OBSERVED  35th Football Lovers Day 2015

16.08.2015 : The 35th Football Lovers Day was organized by the Indian Football Association (West Bengal) in cooperation with the Association of Voluntary Blood Doners at Kolkata today at Kshudiram anushilan Kendra. A blood donation camp was organized to remember the 16 football lovers who had to sacrifice their lives in a Kolkata Derby between East Bengal and Mohun Bagan on 16th August 1980.

It was a enormous response, as 618 football lovers in Kolkata while 523 people in the district towns donate their blood in the noble cause. Each donor were presented a certificate of honor which was signed by an eminent footballer Ex-India International Goalkeeper Sibaji Banerjee, who was a member of Mohan Bagan in that ill fated match of 16th August 1980..

The 16 ill fated Fans who died on 16th August 1980

Dhananjoy Das, Uttam Chawule, Asim Chatterjee, Alok Das, Prasanta Dutta, Sanat Basu, Rabin Adak, Kartik Majhi, Samir Das, Nabin Naskar, Shayamal Biswas, Kalyan Samanta, Biswajit Kar, Madan Mohon Bagli, Kartik Maity, Himangshu Sekhar Das

IFA OBSERVED  35th Football Lovers Day 2015
The Two Giant Teams of the Day 16th August 1980 at Eden garden

East Bengal : Dilip Paul, Dilip Palit, Monoranjan Bhattacharyya, Samar Bhattacharyya, Satyajit Mitra (Captain), MD. Habib (Harjinder Singh), Sudhir Karmakar, Khabaji (Kajal Chatterjee), Tapan Das, Jamsid Nasiri, Majid Baskar.

Extras : Nasir Ahmed, Md. Najib, Subhash Roy, Amit Guha, Somnath Banerjee, Lafituddin, Sumit Bagchi, Tomas Mathuz, Bibhas Sarkar.

Mohun Bagan: Sibaji Banerjee, Compton Dutta (Captain), Subrata Bhattacharyya, Pradip Chowdhury, Shyamal Banerjee, Goutam Sarkar, Prasun Banerjee, Manas Bhattacharyya, Mihir Bose, Xavier Payas ( Ulga Nathan), Bidesh Bose.

Extras : Jagadish Ghosh, Pratap Ghosh, Francis D' Souza, Shyam Thapa, Ranjit Mukherjee, Kesto Mitra, Munish Manna, Sanjib Chowdhury, Ashok Chakrabarty.


Year No. of Donors Signatories 

1981 - Sailen Manna 

1982 - Sri Umapati Kumar 

1983 - Sri Tejesh Ch. (Bagha) Shome 

1984 - Sri Chuni Goswami 

1985 - Sri Sahoo Mewalal 

1986 - Sri Tulsidas Balaram 

1987 - Sri Pradip Kumar Banerjee 

1988 - Sri Subhas Bhowmick 

1989 - Sri Samar (Badru) Banerjee 

1990 - Sri Shyam Thapa 

1991 - Sri Ahmed Khan 

1992 - Syed Naimuddin 

1993 - Sri Byomkesh Bose 

1994 - Sri Sukumar Samajpati 

1995 - Sri Arun Ghosh 

1996 - Md. Habib 

1997 - Md. M.A. Sattar 

1998 - Sri Prodyut Barman 

1999 - Sri Amal Dutta 

2000 - Sri Sanat Seth 

2001 - Sri Nikhil Nandy 

2002 - Sri Santo Mitra 

2003 - Sri Surajit Sengupta 

2004 - Sri Subrata Bhattacharyya 

2005 - Sri Baichung Bhutia 

2006 - Sri Goutam Sarkar 

2007 - Peter Thangaraj 

2008 - Sri Parimal Dey 

2009 - Sri Prasun Banerjee 

2010 - Sri Atanu Bhattachariya 

2011 - Sri Sudhir Karmakar 

2012 - Sri Bhaskar Gunguly 

2013 - Sri Mrityunjoy Banerjee

2014 - Sri Manas Kumar Bhattacharyya

stats : Laltu Chakrabarty : KOLKATAFOOTBALL.COM

Salgaocar FC juniors stormed into the finals of the 13th Goa Police Cup

16.08.2015 : KFC. | HOME PAGE | LIKE FB

IFA OBSERVED  35th Football Lovers Day 2015

16.08.2015 : Salgaocar FC's juniors continued their fine run of form early on in the season as they stormed into the finals of the 13th Goa Police Cup, courtesy a 3-2 win over Santa Cruz Club of Cavelossim in the semi-finals played at Tilak Maidan, Vasco earlier this evening. The winners led 2-1 at the breather.

Cavelossim came out of the blocks, the faster of the two sides and almost scored inside the first 10 minutes when a pile driver from about 25 yards out came crashing off the inside of the post and back into play. Salgaocar's youngsters settled down thereafter and almost scored themselves when striker Naro Hari blasted over on the turn from inside the 6-yard box. Shortly after, the Greens were to take the lead when a quick break down the right saw the ball essayed to Naro on top of the box who relayed the ball to Jason Barbosa to score his first of the evening.

Cavelossim could have drawn level in the 18th minute when the referee pointed to spot after left back Raja Rawat was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the box. However, the resultant spot kick was a feeble attempt and Rohan under the Salgaocar bar was able to easily parry away diving to his left. The Cavelossim lads kept up the pressure and earned a spate of corners in search of the equaliser. In the 24th minute the scores were all level as Marcus Fernandes, who was by far Cavelossimís stand out performer made another darting run on the left and sent in a fine cross. Joshua Vaz who was lurking in the box, smartly got ahead of his man to poke the ball home from close.

Their joy was short-lived however, as Jason finished a cross from Harmanjot for his second of the evening, after Naro had failed to make contact. Naro could have further increased the lead for the Greens but blasted over from close range. At the other end, Rohan was having another outstanding game for the Greens under the bar, pulling off some fine saves.

The second half began with Cavelossim resorting to a direct approach in search of the equaliser with Salgaocar's youngsters happy to sit back and allow their opponents to do the running. They did resort to the counter and Naro had a couple of attempts at goal from distance that sailed marginally over.

The final 10 minutes of the game saw plenty of action at both ends. Jason failed to connect a measured cross from the right for the Greens, with Marcus threatening with pace on the left and some delightful crosses for Cavelossim. The game was all but sealed in the 81st minute as Harmanjot Singh twisted, turned and wriggled his way past 3 Cavelossim players before sending in a teasing cross. Naro who was lurking flung himself at the ball and made enough contact for the ball to sail in the corner of the net, leaving the Cavelossim keeper Ram rooted.

Cavelossim did pull one back in the 90th minute as Marcus who was played through, finished calmly past an advancing Rohan. But eventually, time did run out as the Greens' held on to make the finals where they will now take on the winner of the game between Dempo SC and Tuff Laxmi Prasad SC to be played at the same venue on the 19th.